Français

Workshops

SWEEEET 2019: Symposium for Women Entering Ecology, Evolution and Entomology Today

Intersectionality: What is it and how can it inform our workplace and research practices?

This year we aim to engage participants around issues of intersectionality, helping them to understand the many ways in which discrimination compounds to impact people in ecology, evolution, and beyond. It is our goal to not only help participants understand intersectional issues, but also leave them with actionable items that will act as tools to help them create more inclusive and equitable workspaces. To do this, our workshop will include: talks from individuals with experience leading the way in making academia more intersectional, a small group break-out session to give individuals tangible ways to make space for and listen to diverse perspectives and a networking event to facilitate further discussion.

This year we are re-branding from SWEEET (Symposium for Women Entering Ecology and Evolution Today) to SWEEEET in acknowledgement of this year’s joint meeting with the Entomological Society of Canada and the Acadian Entomological Society.

No. of Participants: unlimited! Everyone attending CSEE, ESC & AES 2019 is encouraged to participate in this years SWEEEET.

Sunday afternoon, 1pm - 5pm (including snack break)

Cost: free (sponsored workshop) – but please register.

A. “Regular” Workshops

Reproducible research and data tidying in R

This workshop will centre on R tools for reproducibility in science and data analysis, including the Tidyverse. This workshop is organized and presented by the Canadian Institute for Ecology and Evolution; the workshop leader is Easton White. Bring your laptops with R and R studio installed.

No. of Participants: Minimum (10) & Maximum (40)

Sunday 9 am – 5 pm (snack but not lunch included; lunch break scheduled to visit local restaurants)

Cost: $45

Leveraging Creative Storytelling for Communicating Your Science

This workshop will cover best tips and practices for communicating your science and using storytelling tactics to create engaging hooks. Through several group exercises, participants will have the chance to put these tips into practice and refine their communication skills with the help of their peers and workshop organizers.

No. of Participants: Minimum (15) & Maximum (25)

Sunday Morning, 9 am – 1 pm; includes snack break)

Cost: $18

Introduction to geospatial data analysis in R

This workshop presents an overview of the main R packages for processing, analyzing and mapping georeferenced data (including the sf, raster and mapview packages). We will see how to perform in R typical operations of geographic information systems (GIS), and how these functions are integrated with R’s general data analysis framework. Bring your laptops with R and R studio installed.

No. of Participants: Minimum (6) & Maximum (24)

Sunday morning, 9 am – 1 pm (includes snack break)

Cost: $18

Agent based Models and the mathematical equations that describe them

The aim of this workshop is to clarify the relationship between some types of Agent Based Models (ABMs) and familiar equations from mathematical ecology. This is a hands-on workshop where participants will run and analyze computer code. Such mathematical approximations to ABMs are valuable because: (1) they reduce computational time to facilitate a more thorough model investigation; (2) eliminate some complexity from the model description to yield clearer results; and (3) reveal parallels with the existing mathematical ecology literature. Bring your laptops with R, R studio, and NetLogo installed. No prerequisite knowledge of coding or mathematics will be assumed. The workshop resources will be hosted on Github and, in addition to the computer code, an annotated bibliography additional resources will be provided.

No. of Participants: Minimum (5) & Maximum (40)

Monday lunch (includes bagged lunch)

Cost: $15

Alternative careers with a graduate degree

This workshop will highlight the similarities and differences in governmentally-, academically-, privately-driven research careers. Participants will conduct informal SWOT analysis, sharing strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats as seen through the eyes of individual researchers with different backgrounds. Workshop leaders will discuss future outlooks for each of these streams of careers for young scientists, and highlight alternatives to traditional academic, government, and private sector careers and how these fields are changing.

No. of Participants: Minimum (10) & Maximum (25)

Monday evening, following the public plenary (venue TBA)

Cost: $5 (refreshments for purchase at workshop venue)

Selecting and submitting to a scientific journal

This interactive workshop is designed to introduce early career researchers to the process of publishing in journals. It will cover aspects such as how to select the right journal for your work, what happens during the review process, and what policies they need to be aware of. Presenter: Helen Eaton, Royal Society of London.

No. of Participants: Minimum (5) & Maximum (30)

Tuesday lunch (lunch included, thanks to sponsorship by the Royal Society of London)

Cost: $5

B. NSERC Workshops (Check back for scheduling TBA!)

NSERC mock grant review

This workshop will demonstrate the process by which an NSERC review panel considers proposals for funding. It will be led by a current member of the Ecology/Evolution panel 1503, with participation by Brenda MacMurray, Program Officer.

No. of Participants: open

***DATE/TIME TBA

Cost: free, no need to register

NSERC scholarships/fellowships

This workshop will explain processes and expectations for NSERC scholarship and fellowship applications. It will be led by an NSERC staff member.

No. of Participants: open

***DATE/TIME TBA

Cost: free, no need to register

NSERC Discovery Grant Results and News

This session will provide updates on NSERC’s Discovery Grant program, with results, news, and a chance for discussion. It will be led by Brenda MacMurray, Program Officer.

No. of Participants: open

***DATE/TIME TBA

Cost: free, no need to register

C. Art Workshops

Daily entomologically-themed art workshops will be offered on-site by Open Your Art. Open Your Art provides transformational art experiences that engage the creative right brain. Participants, which can include both adult meeting registrants and children, will learn a new skill as they dive into the art medium of the day. Each workshop runs 9:30 – 10:30 am, but participants are encouraged and welcome to remain in the art room after their workshops or to return later during open hours.

Embroidery & Stuffy Making

No. of Participants: open

Monday 9:30 – 10:30 am

Cost: free, no registration required!

Bookbinding for documenting bugs

No. of Participants: open

Tuesday 9:30 – 10:30 am

Cost: free, no registration required!

Sculpting Bugs

No. of Participants: open

Wednesday 9:30 – 10:30 am

Cost: free, no registration required!

@CSEE_Meetings

English

Ateliers

SWEEEET 2019 : Symposium pour les femmes débutant en écologie, évolution et entomologie aujourd'hui

Intersectionnalité : de quoi s'agit-il et comment cela peut-il éclairer notre lieu de travail et nos pratiques de recherche?

Nous visons cette année à impliquer les participants concernant les questions d’intersectionnalité en les aidant à comprendre les nombreuses façons dont la discrimination a un impact sur les personnes, en termes d’écologie, d’évolution et au-delà. Notre objectif est non seulement d'aider les participants à comprendre les problèmes intersectionnels, mais également de leur laisser des éléments concrets qui serviront d'outils pour les aider à créer des espaces de travail plus inclusifs et équitables. Notre atelier comprendra des conférences par des gens ayant une expérience déterminante pour rendre les universités plus intersectionnelles, une séance en petits groupes pour donner aux personnes des moyens concrets de faire de la place et d’écouter des points de vue divers, et un événement de discussion ultérieure.

Cette année, nous renommons SWEEET (Symposium pour les femmes débutant en écologie et évolution aujourd’hui) comme SWEEEET pour reconnaître que la réunion de cette année est conjointe avec la Société d’entomologie du Canada et la Société d’entomologie acadienne.

Nombre de participants : illimité! Toutes les personnes participant à la conférence sont encouragées à participer à SWEEEET cette année.

Dimanche après-midi de 13h à 17h (pause collation incluse)

Coût : gratuit (atelier parrainé) - mais merci de vous inscrire.

A. Ateliers « réguliers »

Recherche reproductible et nettoyage des données en R

Cet atelier sera axé sur les outils de reproductibilité pour la science et l'analyse de données, notamment le Tidyverse. Cet atelier est organisé et présenté par l’Institut canadien d’écologie et d’évolution; le responsable de l'atelier est Easton White. Apportez vos ordinateurs portables avec R et R studio installés.

Nombre de participants : minimum (10) et maximum (40)

Dimanche de 9h à 17h (la collation est incluse, mais pas le diner; pause diner prévue dans les restaurants locaux)

Coût : 45 $

Tirer parti des récits créatifs pour communiquer votre science

Cet atelier couvrira les meilleurs conseils et pratiques pour communiquer votre science et utiliser des tactiques de narration pour créer des accroches captivantes. Par le biais de plusieurs exercices en groupe, les participants auront l’occasion de mettre ces conseils en pratique et d’affiner leurs compétences en communication avec l’aide de leurs pairs et des organisateurs d’ateliers.

Nombre de participants : minimum (15) et maximum (25)

Dimanche matin, de 9h à 13h; pause-collation incluse

Coût : 18 $

Introduction à l’analyse de données géospatiales sur R

Cet atelier présente une vue d'ensemble des principaux packages R pour le traitement, l'analyse et la cartographie de données géoréférencées (y compris les packages sf, raster et mapview). Nous verrons comment effectuer dans R les opérations types des systèmes d’information géographique (SIG) et comment ces fonctions sont intégrées au cadre général d’analyse des données de R. Apportez vos ordinateurs portables avec R and R studio installés.

Nombre de participants : minimum (6) et maximum (24)

Dimanche matin, de 9h à 13h (inclut la pause collation)

Coût : 18 $

Les modèles à base d’agents et les équations mathématiques qui les décrivent

Le but de cet atelier est de clarifier la relation entre certains types de modèles à base d’agent (ABM) et les équations familières de l’écologie mathématique. Il s'agit d'un atelier pratique où les participants s'exécutent et analysent le code informatique. Ces approximations mathématiques des ABM sont précieuses pour les raisons suivantes : (1) elles réduisent le temps de calcul pour faciliter une analyse plus approfondie du modèle; (2) elles éliminent une certaine complexité de la description du modèle pour obtenir des résultats plus clairs; et (3) elles révèlent des parallèles avec la littérature existante sur l’écologie mathématique. Amenez vos ordinateurs portables sur lesquels R, R studio, et NetLogo sont installés. Aucune connaissance préalable du codage ou des mathématiques ne sera présumée. Les ressources de l'atelier seront hébergées sur Github et, en plus du code informatique, une bibliographie annotée des ressources supplémentaires sera fournie.

Nombre de participants : minimum (5) et maximum (40)

Lundi midi (comprend un sac-repas)

Coût : 15 $

Carrières alternatives avec un diplôme d'études supérieures

Cet atelier mettra en évidence les similitudes et les différences entre les carrières de recherche au gouvernement, dans les universités et dans le privé. Les participants procéderont à une analyse FFPM informelle en partageant leurs forces, leurs faiblesses, leurs possibilités et leurs menaces, à travers le regard de chercheurs ayant des formations différentes. Les responsables d'ateliers discuteront des perspectives d'avenir pour chacun de ces types de carrières pour jeunes scientifiques et mettront en exergue des alternatives aux carrières traditionnelles des universités, des gouvernements et du secteur privé, ainsi que l'évolution de ces domaines.

Nombre de participants : minimum (10) et maximum (25)

Lundi soir, après la séance plénière publique (lieu à déterminer)

Coût : 5 $ (rafraîchissements en vente sur place)

Choisir et soumettre dans une revue scientifique

Cet atelier interactif est conçu pour initier les chercheurs en début de carrière au processus de publication dans des revues. Il abordera des aspects tels que la sélection de la bonne revue pour votre travail, ce qui se passe pendant le processus de révision et les règles à respecter. Présentatrice : Helen Eaton, Société royale de Londres.

Nombre de participants : minimum (5) et maximum (30)

Mardi midi (diner inclus, grâce au parrainage de la Société royale de Londres)

Coût : 5 $

B. Ateliers du CRSNG (revenez pour la planification à venir!)

Examen fictif d’une demande de subvention du CRSNG

Cet atelier démontrera le processus par lequel un comité d’examen du CRSNG examine les propositions de financement. Il sera dirigé par un membre actuel du groupe de discussion Évolution et Écologie 1503, avec la participation de Brenda MacMurray, chargée de programme.

Nombre de participants : ouvert

*** DATE / HEURE À déterminer

Coût : gratuit, pas besoin de s'inscrire

Bourses du CRSNG

Cet atelier expliquera les processus et les attentes concernant les demandes de bourse du CRSNG. Il sera dirigé par un membre du personnel du CRSNG.

Nombre de participants : ouvert

*** DATE / HEURE À déterminer

Coût : gratuit, pas besoin de s'inscrire

Résultats et nouvelles de la subvention à la découverte du CRSNG

Cette séance fournira des mises à jour sur le programme de subventions à la découverte du CRSNG, avec des résultats, des nouvelles et une occasion de discussion. Elle sera dirigée par Brenda MacMurray, agente de programme.

Nombre de participants : ouvert

*** DATE / HEURE À déterminer

Coût : gratuit, pas besoin de s'inscrire

C. Ateliers d'art

Open Your Art offrira chaque jour des ateliers d'art sur le thème de l'entomologie. Open Your Art propose des expériences artistiques transformationnelles qui engagent le cerveau droit créatif. Les participants, qui peuvent inclure à la fois des participants adultes et des enfants, vont acquérir une nouvelle compétence à mesure qu'ils se plongent dans le médium artistique de la journée. Chaque atelier se déroule de 9h30 à 10h30, mais les participants sont encouragés et invités à rester dans la salle des arts après leurs ateliers ou à revenir plus tard pendant les heures d'ouverture.

Broderie et confection de peluches

Nombre de participants : ouvert

Lundi de 9h30 - 10h30

Coût : gratuit, aucune inscription requise!

Reliure pour documenter les insectes

Nombre de participants : ouvert

Mardi de 9h30 à 10h30

Coût : gratuit, aucune inscription requise!

Sculpture d’insectes

Nombre de participants : ouvert

Mercredi de 9h30 à 10h30

Coût : gratuit, aucune inscription requise!

@CSEE_Meetings