Français

Judging Info

CSEE student awards

CSEE will award five student awards (three for presentations, and two for posters) at the 2019 Evo-Eco-Ento meeting. CSEE will also administer one externally funded award (New Phytologist Prize)

Abstract evaluation (CSEE)

The student awards committee anticipates a large number of applicants to these awards. To keep judging at the conference manageable, we are implementing a pre-screen of applications based on submitted abstracts. Based on this pre-screen, a maximum of 50 presentations and 50 posters (exact number will depend on recruitment of judges for the conference) will be selected for further judging at the conference. Inclusion of a pre-screen makes evaluation of the abstract a part of evaluation of the application for an award.

Abstracts will be evaluated by at least two judges each, and will be evaluated on three criteria: Theoretical/applied foundation, Clarity of writing, and Significance of research. Abstracts will need to be evaluated between June 5 and June 30. The number of abstracts assigned to each judge will depend on the number of student submissions received and the number of judges recruited, but will likely be at least 30. Further information will be provided to those volunteering to evaluate abstracts.

Judging presentations at conference (CSEE)

Three judges will be assigned to each talk in competition for a CSEE student award. CSEE student talks are distributed within the regular conference program. Judges will be assigned up to six talks each; attending and evaluating assigned talks is critical to the integrity of the student awards. Judging assignments and evaluation sheets will be provided prior to the conference.

Judging posters at conference (CSEE)

Three judges will be assigned to each poster in competition for a CSEE student award. Posters will be presented over two sessions as part of the regular conference program. Judges will be assigned up to six posters each; attending and evaluating assigned posters is critical to the integrity of the student awards. Judging assignments and evaluation sheets will be provided prior to the conference.

ESC student awards

All the student talks in the President Prize competition will be grouped together in thematic student sessions. Three judges will be assigned to each session according to their expertise, and will need to attend and evaluate all talks from their session. All talks from a single student session will thus be evaluated by the same three judges.

The number of judges required for the President Prize poster competition will depend on the number of submissions. Each judge will be assigned a selection of posters to judge, but should be no more than ten. Judging for the poster session can occur any time the posters are available for viewing, and need not coincide with the time students are required to be present at their posters.

@CSEE_Meetings

English

d’Info sur les Évaluations

Prix étudiants de la SCÉÉ

La SCÉÉ donnera cinq prix étudiants (trois pour les présentations orales et deux pour les affiches) à la réunion Évo-Éco-Ento 2019. La SCÉÉ administrera également un prix financé à l’externe (prix New Phytologist).

Évaluation des résumés (SCÉÉ)

Le comité des prix étudiants anticipe un grand nombre de candidats pour ces prix. Afin de permettre la gestion des évaluations, nous effectuons une pré-sélection des applications selon les résumés soumis. Selon cette pré-sélection, un maximum de 50 présentations orales et 50 affiches (le nombre exact dépendra du recrutement des évaluateurs à la conférence) seront sélectionnées pour une évaluation subséquente à la conférence. Cette pré-sélection fait de l’évaluation du résumé une partie de l’évaluation des candidatures pour un prix.

Les résumés seront évalués par au moins deux évaluateurs chacun, et seront évalués selon trois critères : les fondements théoriques/appliqués, la clarté de la rédaction et la portée de la recherche. Les résumés devront être évalués entre le 5 juin et le 30 juin. Le nombre de résumés assignés à chaque évaluateur dépendra du nombre de candidatures d’étudiants reçues et du nombre d’évaluateurs recrutés, mais devra probablement être d’au moins 30. Plus d’information sera fournie aux bénévoles pour l’évaluation des résumés.

Évaluation des présentations orales à la conférence (SCÉÉ)

Trois évaluateurs seront assignés à chaque présentation orale en compétition pour un prix étudiant de la SCÉÉ. Les présentations étudiantes de la SCÉÉ seront réparties dans le programme des conférences régulières. Les évaluateurs se verront assigner jusqu’à six présentations chacun; assister et évaluer les présentations assignées est crucial pour l’intégrité des prix étudiants. L’assignation des évaluateurs et les formulaires d’évaluation seront fournie avant la conférence.

Évaluation des affiches à la conférence (SCÉÉ)

Trois évaluateurs seront assignés à chaque affiche en compétition pour un prix étudiant de la SCÉÉ. Les affiches de la SCÉÉ seront réparties dans deux sessions dans le programme régulier de la conférence. Les évaluateurs se verront assigner jusqu’à six affiches chacun; assister et évaluer les affiches assignées est crucial pour l’intégrité des prix étudiants. L’assignation des évaluateurs et les formulaires d’évaluation seront fournie avant la conférence.

Prix étudiants de la SEC

Toutes les présentations orales des étudiants pour le prix du Président seront groupées dans des sessions thématiques d’étudiants. Trois évaluateurs seront assignés à chaque session selon leur expertise, et ils devront assister et évaluer toutes les présentations de leur session. Toutes les présentations orales d’une même session étudiante seront donc évaluées par les mêmes trois évaluateurs.

Le nombre de juges requis pour le prix du Président pour les affiches étudiantes dépendra du nombre de soumissions. Chaque évaluateur se fera assigner une sélection d’affiches à évaluer, qui ne devrait pas dépasser dix. Les évaluations des affiches peuvent se faire à n’importe quel moment tant que les affiches sont disponibles, et l’étudiant n’a pas à être présent à son affiche au moment de l’évaluation.

@CSEE_Meetings