Français

Field Trips

All field trips are tentatively planned and require a minimum number of participants. Some field trips may be cancelled at the early bird registration deadline if the minimum number of participants has not been reached.

All field trips are on Thursday, August 22.

Signing up for field trips is part of the registration process.

Whale watching and Saint Andrews

Full day trip, depart at 830am return at 6pm

Saint Andrews By-the-Sea is a beautiful historic city, one of the oldest in the maritimes, located a short 2 hour drive from Fredericton. Late August is the perfect time to go whale watching as Minke, Fin, Right, and Humpback Whales frequent the area so we have organized a whale watching trip for half the day. You can spend the other half of the day visiting the historic Algonquin Inn (Most Haunted Inn in Canada), the Huntsman Marine Centre, walk to Ministers Island, swim at Katy’s Cove in a white sand lagoon, or enjoy the many art galleries and shops. There are many local restaurants to try for lunch.

Cost $85 per person and includes return travel from Saint Andrews and whale watching (but not lunch).

Links

Fredericton Arts Tour

Full day trip, depart hotel at 830am

Fredericton has a lively arts and culture scene. Spend the day on a walking tour of Art galleries in Fredericton area. The trip begins with a tour of the New Brunswick Literature Garden at the Fredericton Botanic Garden, led by Steve Heard and with a poetry reading (fortunately, not by Steve Heard). It includes stops at the three local galleries, a guided tour of the Beaverbrook art gallery and ends with a stop at a local store where many local artists have items for sale. We will stop for lunch at a local restaurant.

Itinerary

0900-1000: Botanic and literature garden
1000-1200: Charlotte Street Arts Centre/Charlotte Glencross Gallery/Penny Gallery
1200-1300: Lunch at local restaurant
1300-1400: Gallery 78
1400-1600: Guided tour of Beaverbrook Art Gallery
1600: End at Botanicals

Cost $25 person (lunch not included).

Links

Hopewell Rocks and Swim With the Salmon

Full day, depart 8am return 6pm

Visit the Bay of Fundy to walk on the ocean floor at The Hopewell Rocks. The Hopewell Rocks boasts the highest tides in the world, twice a day! While in the Fundy Region, researchers from MAES (Mactaquac Aquatic Ecosystem Study) will guide a swim with Atlantic Salmon. This fieldtrip includes transportation and lunch from Fredericton’s Happy Baker.

Cost is $50 per person and includes transportation, lunch, and entrance fees.

Links

Hopewell Rocks
Photo Credit: CC BY-SA 2.0, Maciej

New Brunswick Museum and Sea Bird Watching

Full day, depart 830am, return 6pm

Enjoy some time in Canada’s oldest incorporated city by touring the New Brunswick Museum’s Collection Centre in Saint John, led by Dr. Don McAlpine (Chair of the Natural Sciences Department). Explore Saint John’s uptown for lunch, followed a chance to see some of the east coast’s shorebirds with a guided hike in the Irving Nature Park. Lunch can be purchased at a local restaurant or at the uptown market (They make a delicious Babimbap).

Cost is $35 per person and includes travel to and from Saint John and entrance to the museum (lunch not included).

Links

Fredericton Craft Brewery Tour

Afternoon, starting at 1200 and ending at 1900

Fredericton is becoming well known as a hub for craft beer, so why not join us to try Fredericton’s diverse selection of breweries and cideries. Start the day off with lunch at Mama’s Brew Pub, followed by sampling at York County Cider, Trailway Brewing, Graystone Brewing and finish with dinner at Gahan Riverside Brewing. Transportation is included to and from each brewery. This trip is restricted to those 19 and older, please enjoy responsibly.

Cost: $15 per person and includes transportation to and from all breweries. Fees for drinks and meals not included in the price, expect to spend $10 for a flight or pint at each brewery, $15 for lunch, and $25 for dinner.

Links

Waterfall Hike

Afternoon (1230 – 1630)

There are several lovely waterfalls in the Fredericton area that can be accessed by short hikes; this trip will take you to view 3 of them.

Lower Joslin falls is roadside, however the descent to the falls requires climbing down a ravine and may be strenuous for some hikers. Small children will need adult assistance to get down to the falls.

Split Rock falls is a magnificent waterfall carved from bedrock. The hike to this waterfall is approximately 20-30 minutes. The majority of the hike is quite easy, but the descent to the falls at the end of the hike can be somewhat strenuous.

Hays falls is the farthest from Fredericton and will be the last set of falls on our excursion. It is the highest and easily the most magnificent of the falls we will see. The hike is approximately 30 minutes but is along a well groomed trail and should be an easy hike for most people of average fitness.

Cost: $15 per person and includes transportation and a guide.

Lower Joslin Falls
Photo Credit: Jen Anderson

Insect and Botany Tours

Half day for each, Botany in the Morning (830 – 1130) and Insects in the afternoon (1230 – 1600)

Spend a half day enjoying a guided hike and tour to satisfy your local botany or entomology interests, or spend the entire day enjoying both. In the morning we have organized a guided hike with a local botanist, and in the afternoon we have organized a hike and tour (with opportunity to collect) with a local entomologist. Both these tours will be organized with input from the participants to look for particular species of interest. If you plan on spending the whole day, we will stop for lunch at the Happy Baker.

Cost: $12 per person for the morning or afternoon and $20 for both which includes transportation (but not lunch).

@CSEE_Meetings

English

Excursions

Toutes les excursions sont planifiées de façon provisoire et requièrent un nombre minimal de participants. Certaines sorties pourraient être annulées à la date limite d'inscription hâtive si le nombre minimum de participants n'a pas été atteint.

Toutes les excursions ont lieu le jeudi 22 août.

Le choix des excursions fait partie du processus d'inscription.

Observation de baleines et visite à Saint-Andrews

Journée complète, départ à 8h30, retour à 18h

Saint-Andrews By-the-Sea est une belle ville historique, l'une des plus anciennes des Maritimes, située à 2 heures de route de Fredericton. La fin du mois d’août est le moment idéal pour observer les baleines, car le petit rorqual, le rorqual commun, le rorqual à bosse, et la baleine noire fréquentent la région. Nous avons donc organisé une excursion d'observation de baleines pendant une demi-journée. Passez l’autre moitié de la journée à visiter l’historique Algonquin Resort (auberge la plus hantée du Canada), le centre des sciences de la mer Huntsman, à marcher jusqu’à l’île Ministers, à nager dans un lagon de sable blanc à Katy’s Cove, ou à visiter les nombreuses galeries d’art et boutiques. Il y a beaucoup de restaurants locaux à essayer pour le dîner.

Coût : 85$ par personne, inclut le transport aller-retour pour Saint-Andrews et l'observation de baleines (le dejeuner n’est pas inclus).

Liens

Circuit artistique de Fredericton

Excursion d'une journée complète, départ de l'hôtel à 8h30

Fredericton possède une scène artistique et culturelle animée. Passez la journée à vous balader à pied dans les galeries d’art de la région de Fredericton. Le voyage commence par une visite au Jardin de la littérature du Nouveau-Brunswick au jardin botanique de Fredericton, dirigé par Steve Heard, et par une lecture de poésie (heureusement, pas par Steve Heard). Il comprend des arrêts dans les trois galeries locales, une visite guidée de la galerie d'art Beaverbrook et se termine par un arrêt dans un magasin local où de nombreux artistes locaux ont des objets à vendre. Nous nous arrêterons pour le dîner dans un restaurant local.

Itinéraire

09h00-10h00 : Jardin botanique et littéraire
10h00-12h00 : Centre des arts de la rue Charlotte / Galerie Charlotte Glencross / Galerie Penny
12h00-13h00 : Diner dans un restaurant local
13h00-14h00 : Galerie 78
14h00-16h00 : Visite guidée de la galerie d'art Beaverbrook
16h00 : Fin du parcours chez Botanicals

Coût : 25$ par personne (dîner non inclus).

Liens

Parc des rochers Hopewell Rocks et baignade avec les saumons

Journée complète, départ 8h retour 18h

Visitez la Baie de Fundy pour marcher au fond de l’océan au parc des rochers Hopewell Rocks. Le parc des rochers Hopewell Rocks possède les plus hautes marées du monde, deux fois par jour! Dans la région de Fundy, des chercheurs du MAES (étude de l’écosystème aquatique de Mactaquac) guideront une baignade avec le saumon de l’Atlantique. Cette excursion comprend le transport et le dîner de l’hôtel Happy Baker de Fredericton.

Coût : 50$ par personne, comprend le transport aller-retour, le dîner et les frais d'entrée.

Liens

Hopewell Rocks
Crédit photo : CC BY-SA 2.0, Maciej

Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick et observation des oiseaux de mer

Journée complète, départ 8h30, retour 18h

Passez un peu de temps dans la plus ancienne municipalité incorporée du Canada en visitant le Centre des collections du Musée du Nouveau-Brunswick à Saint-Jean, dirigé par Dr Don McAlpine (directeur du département des sciences naturelles). Explorez le centre-ville historique de Saint-Jean pour le dîner, puis profitez d’une randonnée guidée dans le parc naturel Irving pour observer certains oiseaux de rivage de la côte est. Le dîner peut être acheté dans un restaurant local ou au marché du centre-ville (ils font un délicieux Babimbap).

Coût : 35$ par personne, transport aller-retour à Saint-Jean et entrée au musée compris (dîner non compris).

Liens

Brasseries artisanales de Fredericton

Après-midi, de 12h à 19h

Fredericton est en voie de devenir un haut lieu de la bière artisanale, alors joignez-vous à nous pour essayer la sélection variée de brasseries et de cidreries de Fredericton. Commencez la journée avec un déjeuner au Mama’s Brew Pub, suivi d'une dégustation au cidre du Comté de York, de Trailway Brewing et de Graystone Brewing, puis terminez avec un dîner au Gahan Riverside Brewing. Le transport est inclus depuis et vers chaque brasserie. Ce voyage est réservé aux 19 ans et plus, profitez-en de manière responsable.

Coût : 15$ par personne, transport aller-retour compris dans toutes les brasseries. Les frais pour les boissons et les repas ne sont pas inclus dans le prix, attendez-vous à dépenser 10$ pour une sélection de dégustation ou une pinte dans chaque brasserie, 15$ pour le dîner et 25$ pour le souper.

Liens

Randonnée et chutes

Après-midi, de 12h30-16h30

Il y a plusieurs belles chutes dans la région de Fredericton auxquelles on peut accéder par de courtes randonnées; ce voyage vous amène à en voir trois.

Les chutes Lower Joslin se trouvent en bordure de route. Cependant, la descente vers les chutes nécessite la descente dans un ravin et peut être fatigante pour certains randonneurs. Les jeunes enfants auront besoin de l'aide d'un adulte pour s'attaquer aux chutes.

La chute Split Rock est une magnifique chute d'eau taillée dans la roche. La randonnée vers cette chute dure environ 20-30 minutes. La majorité de la randonnée est assez facile, mais la descente vers les chutes à la fin de la randonnée peut être un peu plus difficile.

La chute Hays est la plus éloignée de Fredericton et le dernier arrêt de la série de chutes de notre excursion. C'est la plus haute et facilement la plus magnifique des chutes que nous verrons. La randonnée dure environ 30 minutes mais suit un sentier bien entretenu et devrait être une randonnée facile pour la plupart des gens en bonne forme physique.

Coût : 15$ par personne, transport et guide compris.

Les chutes Lower Joslin
Crédit photo : Jen Anderson

Randonnées insectes et botanique

Demi-journée pour chacun, botanique le matin (8h30 - 11h30) et insectes l'après-midi (12h30 - 16h)

Passez une demi-journée à participer à une randonnée et une visite guidée pour satisfaire vos intérêts botaniques ou entomologiques, ou passez la journée complète à apprécier les deux. Dans la matinée, nous avons organisé une randonnée guidée avec un botaniste local et dans l'après-midi, nous avons organisé une randonnée (avec possibilité de collecte) avec un entomologiste local. Ces deux visites seront organisées avec la participation des participants pour rechercher des espèces d’intérêt particulier. Si vous envisagez de passer toute la journée, nous nous arrêterons pour le dîner au Happy Baker.

Coût : 12$ par personne pour la matinée ou l'après-midi et 20$ pour les deux, transport inclus (dîner non inclus).

@CSEE_Meetings