Français

Code of Conduct

Introduction

This code of conduct was developed by the Canadian Society for Ecology and Evolution (CSEE), the Entomological Society of Canada (ESC) and the Acadian Entomological Society (AES). It is based on the ESC’s Meeting Code of Conduct, the code of conduct developed for CSEE 2018, and reflects the principles established in the CSEE Diversity and Inclusivity Statement. This code of conduct applies to all activities, meetings and events that are organized as part of the CSEE-ESC-AES joint meeting (Eco-Evo-Ento 2019) in Fredericton, New Brunswick.

The CSEE, the ESC, the AES and the organizers of Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 are committed to maintaining a safe, inclusive, and respectful environment, and to promoting lively and open discussion among participants at Eco-Evo-Ento 2019. A commitment from all participants to uphold the code of conduct will allow for a safe, open, and productive exchange of scientific ideas, to the benefit of all attendees.

By attending this event you agree to abide by this code of conduct. This code applies to all participants including, but not limited to: attendees, speakers, staff, service providers, vendors, sponsors, and guests.

We strive to create an environment at Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 where individuals experiencing unacceptable behaviour can feel safe reporting such incidents. If you are the subject of unacceptable behaviour or witness such behaviour, we encourage you to file a complaint.

The Code will be posted in both English and French. However, in the event of any conflict between the two versions, the English wording will have precedence.

Isabelle Côté
President
Canadian Society for Ecology and Evolution

Kevin Floate
President
Entomological Society of Canada

Emily Owens
President
Acadian Entomological Society

Stephen Heard
Chair
Eco-Evo-Ento 2019

Authorship

All authors listed on a presentation or abstract must agree with all information that is contained in the presentation. Failure to agree will result in the presentation being withdrawn.

Submission of a presentation to Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 indicates the intent of one of the listed authors to attend the meeting. Repeated or consecutive last-minute cancellations may result in the denial of future submissions.

Photography and Recording

We encourage attendees to take photos and share them on social media. However, when photographing and sharing photos of others, please ensure that all readily identifiable persons in the photo agree to having their photo taken and shared on social media and elsewhere.

With respect to conference content, the organizers of Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 request that there be no photography, videography or audio recording of presentations or posters without the explicit permission of the presenter.

Expected Behaviour

To create and foster a safe, welcoming space for the diversity of all attendees at Eco-Evo-Ento 2019, we expect our attendees to behave appropriately. Expected behaviour includes:

Unacceptable behaviour

Harassment in any form will not be tolerated.

Harassment is defined as systematic, continued unwanted and annoying actions of one party to another.

Harassment includes, but is not limited to: offensive gestures or speech related to ethnicity, religion, disability, health condition, appearance, gender, sexual orientation, family status, career status, or social status, as well as deliberate intimidation, stalking, following, unwanted photography or recording, sustained disruption of presentations and events, unwelcome attention or physical contact. This includes sexual harassment which is unwelcome verbal, written, or physical attention (including actions designed to intimidate or coerce), such as unwanted and unnecessary touching or other physical contact, unwanted comments, suggestions, or questions regarding sexual activity, and using degrading words, images, or sounds to describe a person.

Participants asked to stop harassing behaviour are expected to comply immediately.

Other examples of unacceptable behaviour include:

Unacceptable behaviour explained as attempted humor or disguised as humour still constitutes unacceptable behaviour as defined above.

Impairment from alcohol, cannabis or illegal substances is not an excuse for unacceptable behaviour.

Immediate serious threat to public safety

Anyone experiencing or witnessing behaviour that is an immediate threat to personal or public safety should contact local law enforcement (by calling 911) and immediately notify venue security.

Filing a Complaint About Unacceptable Behaviour

If you are the subject of unacceptable behaviour, or have witnessed such behaviour, please immediately notify an Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 organizer or one of the trained Code of Conduct Advocates. Advocates will be wearing identification so as to assist you in identifying them.

Complaints should not be made via social media. This is to ensure the confidentiality and fairness of the complaints process, and that complaints are received in a timely manner.

Notification may be done on-site or by emailing your concern to csee.esc.2019@gmail.com.

Regardless of whether a notification is made, you are encouraged to document the incident in writing and in complete detail as soon as possible in the event that a complaint must be made.

Response to complaints

All complaints will be kept confidential to the extent that is possible. Names of complainants will not be shared with the boards of directors of the CSEE, ESC or AES when determining the consequences of complaint.

You may submit an anonymous complaint. The CSEE, ESC and AES will retain anonymous complaints, however, the societies will not be able to take action on a single anonymous complaint without further corroboration.

All complaints will be documented, regardless of whether any disciplinary action occurs.

All complaints will be assessed. This may include gathering details and information from the complainant, the target (if not the complainant), and witnesses. The complainant or target will not be expected to discuss the incident with the offending party.

Outcomes of assessments will not be made public but those filing complaints may request to be informed of the outcome.

Complaint assessments shall be the responsibility of a person or committee to be appointed by the CSEE, ESC and AES board of directors before the conference.

In addition to any actions taken at Eco-Evo-Ento 2019, violators of this code of conduct will receive a written documentation of actions taken in response to a complaint. This documentation may also be forwarded to the employer, home institution or agency of the violator.

The CSEE, ESC and AES boards of directors shall be responsible for implementing all responses and sanctions that may be decided on following a complaint.

Consequences

The CSEE, ESC and AES reserve the right to remove an individual from Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 without warning or refund, prohibit attendance at future meetings of the societies, rescind memberships in the societies, and notify an individual’s employer for failing to abide by this Code of Conduct.

Requests to appeal sanctions imposed consequent to this Code of conduct may be made after the meeting conclusion to the appropriate Society President, who will appoint an appeals committee.

@CSEE_Meetings

English

Code de Conduite

Introduction

Ce Code de conduite a été développé par la Société canadienne pour l'écologie et l'évolution (SCEE), la Société d'entomologie du Canada (SEC) et la Société d'entomologie de l’Acadie (SEA). Il se base sur le Code de conduite pour les réunions du SEC qui a été élaboré pour la SCEE 2018, et reflète les principes articulés dans la déclaration sur la diversité et l’inclusion de la SCEE. Ce Code de conduite s'applique à toutes les activités, réunions et événements organisés dans le cadre de la réunion conjointe SCEE-SEC-SEA (Eco-Evo-Ento 2019) à Fredericton, Nouveau-Brunswick.

La SCEE, la SEC, la SEA et les organisateurs d'Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 s'engagent à maintenir un environnement sécuritaire, inclusif et respectueux et à promouvoir des discussions animées et ouvertes entre les participants à Eco-Evo-Ento 2019. Le respect du Code de conduite par tous les participants permettra à l’échange sain, ouvert et productif des idées scientifiques, dans l’intérêt de tous les participants.

En participant à cet événement, vous acceptez d’adhérer au Code de conduite. Ce code s’applique à tous ceux présents, y compris, sans toutefois s'y limiter aux participants, conférenciers, membres du personnel, fournisseurs de services, vendeurs, parraineurs et invités.

Chez Eco-Evo-Ento 2019, nous nous efforçons de créer un environnement dans lequel un individu rencontrant un comportement inacceptable pourra se sentir à l’aise en signalant l’incident. Si vous êtes sujet à un comportement inacceptable ou si vous êtes témoin d'un tel comportement, nous vous encourageons à porter une plainte.

Le Code sera publié en anglais et en français. Toutefois, en cas de conflit entre les deux versions, la formulation anglaise aura la priorité.

Isabelle Côté
Présidente
Société canadienne pour l'écologie et l'évolution

Kevin Floate
Président
Société d'entomologie du Canada

Emily Owens
Présidente
Société entomologique acadienne

Stephen Heard
Président
Eco-Evo-Ento 2019

Paternité (statut d’auteur)

Tous les auteurs attribués dans une présentation ou un résumé doivent être en accord avec l’information contenue dans la présentation. Faute d'accord, la présentation sera retirée.

La soumission d'une présentation à Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 indique l'intention de l'un des auteurs contribueurs d'assister à la réunion. Des annulations répétées ou consécutives à la dernière minute peuvent entraîner le refus de soumissions dans le futur.

Photographie et enregistrement sur film

Nous encourageons les participants à prendre des photos et à les partager sur les réseaux sociaux. Toutefois, veuillez vous assurer d’avoir le consentement de toutes personnes clairement identifiables lors de la photographie et avant le partage de photos sur les réseaux sociaux et ailleurs.

En ce qui concerne le contenu de la conférence, les organisateurs d'Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 demandent qu'il n'y ait pas de photographie, de vidéographie ou d'enregistrement audio de présentations ou d'affiches sans la permission explicite du présentateur.

Comportement attendu

Dans le but de créer et promouvoir un espace sain et accueillant pour les participants de toutes diversités à Eco-Evo-Ento 2019, nous nous attendons à ce que nos participants se comportent de manière appropriée. Le comportement attendu comprend:

Comportement inacceptable

Le harcèlement en aucune forme ne sera toléré.

Le harcèlement est défini comme étant des actions systématiques, continuelles, indésirables et agaçantes d’une partie vers une autre.

Le harcèlement comprend, sans toutefois s'y limiter à: les gestes ou discours injurieux liés à l'ethnicité, la religion, l'invalidité, l'état de santé, l'apparence, le genre, l'orientation sexuelle, le statut familial, le statut professionnel ou social, ainsi que l'intimidation délibérée, le harcèlement criminel, la photographie ou enregistrement non désirés, l’interruption continuel des présentations et des événements, l’attention ou le contact physique indésirables. Cela inclut le harcèlement sexuel, qui s’agit d’actions hostiles et à connotation sexuelle (y compris des actions visant à intimider ou à contraindre) telles que des contacts physiques non désirés et non nécessaires, des commentaires, suggestions ou questions non-souhaités au sujet de l'activité sexuelle, l’attention verbale, écrite ou physique non souhaitée et l'utilisation de mots, des images ou des sons dégradants pour décrire une personne.

Tous participants à qui il est demandé de cesser le harcèlement doivent se conformer immédiatement.

Voici d'autres exemples de comportement inacceptable:

Un comportement inacceptable présenté sous guise d’humour constitue toujours un comportement inacceptable tel que défini ci-dessus.

Avoir ses facultés affaiblies par l'alcool, le cannabis ou des substances illégales ne constitue pas une excuse pour un comportement inacceptable.

Menace immédiate et grave pour la sécurité publique

Toute personne qui porte témoin à un comportement posant une menace immédiate pour la sécurité personnelle ou publique doit contacter les services de police locaux (en composant le 911) et en avertir immédiatement la sécurité sur le site.

Signaler un comportement inacceptable

Si vous êtes victime d'un comportement inacceptable ou si vous avez été témoin d'un tel comportement, veuillez en informer immédiatement un organisateur d'Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 ou l'un des défenseurs formés au Code de conduite. Les défenseurs porteront une pièce d'identité afin de vous aider à les identifier.

Les plaintes ne doivent pas être portées via les réseaux sociaux. Cela vise à assurer la confidentialité ainsi que l'équité du processus de traitement des plaintes, et à ce que les plaintes soient reçues à temps.

La porte de plaintes peut être faite sur place ou par courrier électronique à l'adresse csee.esc.2019@gmail.com.

Indépendamment du fait que vous avisez un organisateur ou non, vous êtes encouragé à documenter l’incident par écrit et de manière détaillée le plus tôt possible dans le cas où une plainte doit être déposée.

Réponse aux plaintes

Toutes les plaintes resteront confidentielles dans la mesure du possible. Les noms des rapporteurs ne seront pas communiqués aux conseils d’administration de la SCEE, de la SEC ou de la SEA lors de la détermination des conséquences d’une plainte.

Vous pouvez soumettre une plainte anonyme. La SCEE, le SEC et la SEA retiendront les plaintes anonymes, mais les sociétés ne pourront pas agir suite à une seule plainte anonyme sans autre corroboration.

Toutes les plaintes seront documentées, qu’il y ait ou non une action disciplinaire.

Toutes les plaintes seront évaluées. Cela peut inclure la collecte de détails et d'informations auprès du plaignant, de la victime (si ce n'est pas le plaignant) et des témoins. Le plaignant ou la victime ne sera pas tenu de discuter l'incident avec la partie fautive.

Les résultats des évaluations ne seront pas rendus publics, mais ceux qui porteront une plainte pourront demander à être informés du résultat.

Les évaluations des plaintes se retrouveront la responsabilité d'une personne ou d'un comité nommé par le conseil d'administration de la SCEE, de la SEC et de la SEA avant la conférence.

En plus des actions prises à Eco-Evo-Ento 2019, les contrevenants à ce Code de conduite recevront une documentation écrite détaillant les actions prises en réponse à une plainte. Cette documentation peut également être transmise à l'employeur, à l'institution d'origine ou à l'agence du contrevenant.

Les conseils d'administration de la SCEE, la SEC et la SEA sont responsables de la mise en œuvre de toutes les réponses et sanctions pouvant être décidées à la suite d'une plainte.

Conséquences

La SCEE, la SEC et la SEA se réservent le droit de retirer une personne d'Eco-Evo-Ento 2019 sans avertissement ni remboursement, d'interdire sa participation à l’avenir aux réunions des sociétés, d'annuler ses adhésions aux sociétés et d'informer son employeur suite au non-respect du Code de conduite.

Les demandes de recours contre les sanctions disciplinaires imposées en vertu du présent Code de conduite peuvent être adressées, suite à la clôture de la réunion, au président de la société compétente, qui nommera un comité d’appel.

@CSEE_Meetings